The roster of acts on the shortlist for the 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize for album of the year were announced on Thursday morning (July 25) and among the 12 contenders on the roster is The 1975's A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships, Slowthai's Nothing Great About Britain, Little Simz's Grey Area and Foals' Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 1.

Other albums on the list this year include: Anna Cali – Hunter, Black Midi – Schlagenheim, Cate Le Bon – Reward, Dave – Psychodrama, Fontaines D.C. – Dogrel, IDLES – Joy as an Act of Resistance, NAO – Saturn and SEED Ensemble – Driftglass

This year's ceremony (Sept. 19) will take place at the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith, London, on Sept. 19 and be broadcast on BBC Four and BBC Radio 6 Music. Among the judges for this year's award are Stormzy, Gaz Coombes (Supergrass), Jamie Cullum, Jorja Smith and Annie Mac. ‘This year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize celebrates both the striking diversity of British and Irish music-makers and their shared purpose in exploring issues of identity and belonging at a time of division and disagreement," the judges said in a statement. "And all this is done with music of passion, wit, insight, ambition and heart-stirring optimism!"

The event will feature live performances from a number of the nominees, with the night ending with the announcement of the winner. 

Check out responses from some of the nominated acts below.